1940's Camp Wawona Postcard


(click on image to enlarge)

Pilgrim Pines Beach October 2006


(click on image to enlarge)
Looking South, from Pilgrim Pines Beach, October 30, 2006

Pumpkinfest Weekend 2006


(click on image to enlarge)
Taken from a cabin on West Shore Road in the end of October 2006.

View From The 9th Green Camp Wawona


(click on image to enlarge)
This photo was taken from the north side of Swanzey Lake. The shoreline today looks much different than the one in this photo. Today the grass in the foreground is underwater. Since this photo was taken, the lake level has risen due to the installation of the boards at the dam down at the Mill Pond.
This postcard is postmarked 1941. The foreground today is underwater most of the year.

Road To Swanzey Lake


(click on image to enlarge)
A postcard postmarked 1909, this is the road to Swanzey Lake, most likely West Shore Road or, perhaps Swanzey Lake Road.

View Of Lower Golf Course In Late 1930's


(click on image to enlarge)
View of the lower golf course in the late 1930's. In the 1920's, this field also served as a baseball field, and in later years a soccer field. Closer to the waterfront (far right of the photo), at least a dozen tent platforms were built on or near the sand in the 1910's, and housed children for summer camp, and adults when camp was not in session. In 1973, the CW Gift Shop building (formerly the Wawona Rec Hall) was towed to its current location near the golfer putting. Photo taken from tee (that no longer exists, where the row of hemlock is today), up on West Shore Road, north of the pro shack, currently the Snack Shack.

Wawona Lodge From Golf Course


(click on image to enlarge)
Wawona Lodge in the background, around summer of 1940. The pro shack over the years had been turned into the Snack Shack. The building to the far left has been moved to near West Shore Road and is now the CW Gift Shop. Today, this portion of the golf course is now the waterfront area with shuffleboard court, play area, and basketball court.

Wawona Lodge Grove 1930's


(click on image to enlarge)
The Picnic Grove at Wawona Lodge in 1930.

East Shore Road 1910's


(click on image to enlarge)
East Shore Road on the way to Denman Thompson's summer cottage on Swanzey Lake in the 1910's.

View From Picnic Grove At Wawona


(click on image to enlarge)
View from the picnic grove in the 1940's at Camp Wawona, Honey Hill in the distance.

Camp Wawona 1940's


(click on image to enlarge)

Postcard From Pearl, June 15, 1911


(click on images to enlarge)
Postcard, postmarked June 15th, 1911. Most likely a photo taken earlier. The Brown House and property seen here on the East Shore with outbuildings in 1910-1911.

(click on image to enlarge)
The Brown House on Swanzey Lake in September 2004, same location as the above photo.

Denman Thompson's Summer Cottage


(click on image to enlarge)
Denman Thompson's Summer Cottage on Swanzey Lake, East Shore Road. This building still stands, at Swanzey Lake Campground. A postcard in color, postmarked 1910, the photo probably was taken around 1908 or 1909.

Swanzey Lake Summer 2001


(click on image to enlarge)
Fairview's raft in the distance, photo taken early morning of July 13, 2001.

Camp Squanto 1960's


(click on image to enlarge)
Postcard from a summer in the 1960's. The photo appears to be taken at Camp Squanto. A counselor with his cabin is seen in front of the chimney of the Rec Hall.

Rainbow Over Honey Hill


(click on image to enlarge)
A rainbow over Honey Hill, photo taken from Pilgrim Pines waterfront on July 14, 2001.
(click on image to enlarge)
Same rainbow, view from field on Christian Hill Road.

Pilgrim Pines 1960


(click on image to enlarge)
View near the pond of the Pilgrim Pines Golf Course, postmarked June 1960. Photo taken 1959 or spring of 1960. Note, rec hall down at beach, was later moved up near the road around 1973, legend has it it was towed by a station wagon and rolled over logs to get to its current location. The building to the far right is the Snack Shack.

View From Talbot Hill 1910 Looking East


(click on image to enlarge)
A very rare postcard, postmarked 1911. This photo (looking west) was taken around spring or summer of 1910 from the front porch of the house on top of Talbot Hill looking down towards Camp Jewell, on West Shore Road. The Camp Jewell waterfront is about at the middle of the photo. The house on Talbot Hill was abandoned at least 25 years ago and has been removed. This view today from the exact location is not possible due to the overgrowth of the tree tops. You can also see more sand on the shoreline, indicating the level of the dam at the time.

Camp Jewell 1910's


(click on image to enlarge)
Very early postcard. View from Camp Jewell, West Shore Road in the 1910-1911 period. Note giant slide at the shoreline. Mt Caesar in the background. The Camp Squanto swimming area and waterfront is in about the same exact location today.

Summer At Camp Wawona Early 1910's


(click on image to enlarge)
Camp Wawona postcard, photo taken in a summer in the very early 1910's. Interesting and large diving contraption at the end of the dock. Photo taken from the Grove.